Vocal Essence / Behold This Heavenly Night CD

Vocal Essence / Behold This Heavenly Night CD


VocalEssence, one of the world’s premier choral music organizations under the direction of award-winning conductor/organist Philip Brunelle, brings us this fresh collection of holiday choral music. Behold This Heavenly Night presents the world premiere of some wonderful new carols alongside outstanding arrangements of more familiar melodies. Included is the U.S. premiere of John Rutter’s new “Carol of the Magi.” Also features Daniel Kantor's “Night of Silence.”

A warm, lyrical, uncomplicated seasonal anthology…I am especially taken with Paul Lohman’s gentle, sweet ‘What Child’, Matthew Brown’s aptly titled ‘Sweet was the Song’, and Daniel Kantor’s ‘Night of Silence’, which superimposes an attractive new melody atop Franz Gruber’s perennial favorite...a hushed, deeply felt exposition of the heart and soul of Christmas.
— American Record Guide


  1. Ding Dong! Merrily on High (arr. Malcolm Williamson)
  2. What Child (Paul W Lohman)
  3. The Piping Carol* (James Sclater)
  4. Un Nacimento (A Nativity Scene)* (Diego Luzuriaga)
  5. A Mother’s Carol* (Scott Ethier)
  6. I Wonder as I Wander (John Jacob Niles, arr. Martin Neary)
  7. Sweet Was the Song* (Matthew Brown)
  8. Night of Silence (Daniel Kantor, arr. John Ferguson)
  9. See Amid the Winter Snow* (Robert Sieving)
  10. In the Bleak Midwinter* (Alan J Higbee)
  11. The Shepherd and the King* (Brian Holmes)
  12. Carol of the Magi (John Rutter)
  13. Calm on the Listening Ear* (John Christian Rommereim)
  14. The Darkest Midnight in December* (Stephen Main)
  15. Jingle Bells (James Lord Pierpont, arr. J David Moore)
  16. Welcome the King* (Michael Glasgow)
  17. The Virgin’s Cradle Hymn* (Richard E Voorhaar)
  18. Behold the Dark and Bitter Night* (Thomas Fielding)
  19. It Fell Upon the High Midnight* (Paul Gibson)
  20. Rudolphus Rubrinasus* (Johnny Marks, arr Philip Brunelle)

    *World Premiere
Add To Cart

Listen to a sample